What NOT To Do

John Deere World Headquarters in Winter
Photo Credit: Cristina101 via Flickr

I spent this past week at the John Deere World Headquarters in Moline. It really is a gorgeous building with what may be the best-kept lawn I've ever seen.*

Holiday lights are going up right now, which just makes the building look even better. It's made out of Cor-ten Steel, which actually uses oxidized rust to prevent corrosion** and makes the building a rich brown. Add white lights, dark green wreaths, velvety red bows, and a dusting of snow, and it's straight out of a holiday card.

I grabbed my camera, framed my shot, and…. nothing. 

Dead stinkin' battery. Even worse, the charger was all the way in Des Moines. 

I got to spend a week seeing great shots that I couldn't take. 

Siiiigh. 

 

*I know, I know: we're kind of obligated to have nice landscaping, but it is seriously lush grass. 

 **Hence its slightly-irreverent-but-definitely-distinctive nickname, The Rusty Palace.

Categories: Every Day Life | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

